Riding the storm out

I finally made it to Saturday. I has been a rough week. Here in Tennessee we are currently in the lower bowels of winder storm Pandora, nearing it’s slushy sphincter. The view out my window as I write this is that of a frozen wasteland. It was raining ice a few minutes ago, but now it has changed to a light snow. The temperature is rising, however. By the end of the day we should be in the forties,

20150216_164211The worst of the weather was on Monday. As you can see from my truck, we had one hell of an ice storm. The old girl was encased in a quarter-inch thick shell of solid ice. It took me a while to chisel my way into her. The photo was taken at my work. I was able to make it in thanks to the relentless efforts of the snowplow drivers who worked through the night and morning. Over all we haven’t missed much of a beat through this bad weather. We did lose electricity for a few hours on Monday night, but we were prepared for that; not well prepared, but prepared.

It’s times like this that make me think about what we would do if we lost services for a much longer span of time. Our preparedness level is very minimal. We have several flashlights, spare batteries, warm clothes, and a couple of cold-weather sleeping bags. We definitely need to upgrade/enhance our ‘prepper’ gear. Here are a few things that I am planning to do to make us more battle-ready for the next wintry sucker-punch from mother nature…

  • We need a backup heat source that is not dependent on electricity! The cold-weather bags are nice to have, but if the heat goes out for an extended period of time – we are screwed. The temperature was in the single digits here this week. Without heat our plumbing would have exploded for sure. Not to mention doing simple day to day tasks would be massively uncomfortable. I’m thinking about getting a couple of propane space heaters for this problem.
  • I’m going to upgrade our car ice scrapper from the little hand held one to the big version that is attached to a long pole. During an ice storm, your car will become completely encased in ice. Don’t even think about driving it until you knock every chunk of ice off, including the hard to reach ice on the very top.
  • I’m seriously going to look into getting snow chains for our vehicles, especially the truck. My truck is so light that one good gust of wind would send it sliding across the highway like a hokey puck.
  • Two words: thermal underwear.
Leave a Reply

