These are people and they need our help

Photo courtesy of: IHH Humanitarian Relief Foundation - https://www.flickr.com/photos/ihhinsaniyardimvakfi/

Photo courtesy of: IHH Humanitarian Relief Foundation – https://www.flickr.com/photos/ihhinsaniyardimvakfi/

I have been touched by watching the thousands of Syrian refugees flooding into Europe over the past few days. The warm greetings from the people of Germany and Austria in particular have been inspirational. I don’t know if I have any readers from these two countries, but I just want to say Well done! Your compassion is an epic sight to behold.

I have also been disturbed by the harsh treatment that the refugees have been receiving at the hands of some of the asshole nations along the way. I’m sorry. I can’t brand whole nations as assholes just because their governments are devoid of empathy. God knows the US government isn’t exactly rushing in to save the day. I get it. It’s scary. There are so many people. They need so much. They may have different values, and some of them may even be dangerous. These are real concerns, but it doesn’t take away from the fact that they are our fellow human beings and they need our help.

Denice and I have been discussing the refugee crisis as of late. The US has agreed to take in up to ten thousand refugees. It’s just a drop in the bucket, but for ten thousand women, children, and men it means everything. We are going through tough financial times ourselves now, but we have been discussing what we could do to help if the opportunity presents itself. I know it’s unlikely that refugees will be settled in my hometown, but I really do hope so. We would love the opportunity to help, or at the very least give a warm welcome.

One of the skills that I take pride in is my ability to get a long with almost anyone. I love people and I respect differences. I don’t know any Muslims though. All I know is what I’ve read about them and seen in the media. I wonder what they would think about someone like me; a secular humanist, nudist, ham sandwich eating, sex loving, sci-fi nerd? It would be an interesting encounter for sure. There are over a billion Muslims in the world, so we are going to have to learn to live together. I suppose if they can handle someone like me and I can learn to live with them, there is hope for us all.

Leave a Reply

