Randomness on a rainy weekend

Hello friends.

I don’t really have a plan for this post, just wanted to ramble for a while. I hope you don’t mind a little dose of random chatter. I will probably do a post on the shooting in Oregon in the next couple of days, but I’m not feeling that serious right now.

This has been the laziest weekend I’ve had in a long time. I was uber tired when I got home from work on Friday. I put in a lot of overtime last week. So, we ended up crashing. I felt much better after getting a full night’s sleep.

It has been raining literally all weekend. I currently find myself relaxing on the couch with Denice and the dogs. D is watching football as I listen to ASMR and bang away on this keyboard. I actually like days like this. There’s nothing to do that can’t wait till tomorrow. The only thing to do is cuddle with your family and relax. I sometimes feel guilty for enjoying times like this. The corporate culture has infected my soul to the point that I somehow feel that relaxing and vegging out is wrong. Well, screw that! There is a time to work and today isn’t it. Today is a day to chill. It’s a day to binge-watch episodes on Netflix while eating cheese and crackers. It is a day to turn the temperature down and share each others body heat. It is a day to look out the window and just watch it rain.

People in this country are so uptight, so anal, and so stressed out. Why do we punish ourselves so? What is it about human beings that we just can’t be? Well, I am going to be. To steal a line from a great movie from the past… I am going to abide.

It’s neat to watch Sylar twitch and jerk as he sleeps. I wonder what dogs dream of? I wonder if they sometimes dream they can fly, or find themselves without fur in a public dog park?

Sometimes I wonder if the Pope is an atheist. He is a hell of a lot more progressive than most religious people I know. Honestly, what would one do if they found themselves the leader of millions of religious people and without belief themselves. What a predicament. What a choice you would have to make. Do you be true to yourself and crush the faith of millions, or do you just go along and fake it? Something to think about.

About football: I find very little enjoyment from watching it. I used to play it with friends all the time as a young person. That I like. Watching it on TV does nothing for me. I do however appreciate that Denice loves to watch football and it brings her much pleasure. I’ve found that enabling her to gain pleasure from something that she loves, whether I like it or not, brings me much joy. This is the essence of compersion.

Ok my friends. That’s all for now. I wish you all much joy and relaxation on what’s left of this wonderful rainy weekend!

Leave a Reply

