Work and stuff

Today was a long day at work. Very long. Too long. It’s days like today that make me want to move to Sweden (they are moving to a six-hour work day). It wasn’t that it was a hard day, just long, and relatively unproductive. I don’t mind hard work. I actually enjoy it, when it’s meaningful. What isn’t meaningful in my book is unproductive busy work. My life is too short for such nonsense. The idea of it is an offense to me.

Enough bellyaching. My life is good, and I appreciate that. There are a great many people in this world who have a far more unpleasant existence. However, that fact does not mean that I don’t want to make life better; mine and eventually everyone elses.

I think the root of the problem is our culture of competition. We have to work extra hard for longer hours because if we don’t we won’t be… competitive. Competition causes us to do a lot of self-defeating things. Instead of looking for the win/win, we must stay ahead. We may come up with useful ideas but we can’t share them because we must maintain an advantage. Who knows what innovations have never been realized because we can’t allow others to mix their ideas with ours to create something wonderful.

We are all humans, and we have the same needs. Meeting those needs doesn’t have to be a struggle. It’s just a matter of cooperating with each other to solve problems and working together to get things done. Competition is ok for games, but when it comes to life we really need to cooperate.

Leave a Reply

