Slow Carb Evolution

Today’s weigh in was a little underwhelming. I stayed exactly the same. Last Saturday I was 252.2 pounds and this morning I was 252.2 pounds. No loss, but thankfully no gain.

Last week my excercise was a little more consistent. I only missed one day of resistance training. My eating however, was not good. I kept everything in my three to seven P.M. window just fine, but I was still eating the standard American diet. Cheese burgers and fries, with Dr. Pepper to drink, and cake for dessert. Hardly a healthy eating practice. This must change.

Next week my plan is to implement the Slow Carb Diet. I know, it sounds kind of like a typical fad diet name, but it has some solid science behind it. I heard about Slow Carb from listening to the Tim Ferris Show. Please read Tim’s post entitled: How to Lose 100 Pounds on the Slow Carb Diet. Slow Carb works under the same principle as Atkins and Paleo. Basically it restricts carbohydrate intake in order to take advantage of the resulting low insulin levels. Insulin is the hormone that is responsible for telling your body to store fat. Once your glycogen stores are depleted, the insulin levels drop accordingly. The low insulin levels allow your body to start drawing upon the fat reserves for energy.

The rules for Slow Carb are few and simple. They are as follows:

  • Rule #1: Avoid “white” starchy carbohydrates (or those that can be white). This means all bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, and grains. If you have to ask, don’t eat it.
  • Rule #2: Eat the same few meals over and over again, especially for breakfast and lunch. You already do this; you’re just picking new default meals.
  • Rule #3: Don’t drink calories. Exception: 1-2 glasses of dry red wine per night is allowed.
  • Rule #4: Don’t eat fruit. (Fructose –> glycerol phosphate –> more bodyfat, more or less.) Avocado and tomatoes are excepted.
  • Rule #5: Take one day off per week and go nuts. I choose and recommend Saturday.

So, my plan for next week:

  • No more Dr. Peppers! Water only. I think this will be the hardest change for me. I have terrible symptoms when I withdraw from caffeine for a few days. They involve headache and nausea so bad that I have missed work from it before. I have some medicine that counteracts the effects, so I will need to keep that on me all week.
  • No more bread, pasta, potatoes, rice, fruit, catsup, and especially no more cake!
  • I’m going to have to start eating more vegetables, a lot more. ((gag))
  • Eat only once a day, like normal, and get a good workout in while in a fasted state.
  • Do the Wim Hof Method a minimum of twice a day.
  • And (something I have a hard time with) get a minimum of seven hours of sleep a night.

I think that all of these things working synergistically together  will allow me to evolve to the next level. I’m confident that if I can stick to these changes I will see some excellent results come next Saturday.

Leave a Reply

