We are all made of the same Engergy

I stand corrected. apparently the election process isn’t as rigged as I thought it was. Like any rationalist, now that I have new evidence, I must adjust my worldview accordingly. That leaves me with the conclusion that “the people,” or at least a majority of the ones who vote have elected Donald Trump to be their next president.

Like I said in my previous post, I do not see either candidate as a good option. So, while I am disappointed, I would be almost equally disappointed if Hillary had won. But since she did not, that has proved to me that the system isn’t quiet as corrupted as I had thought. That is a little encouraging. That means that it can be changed for the better. I’m not saying it will be easy, but at least we have something to work with.

I just came from a ‘prayer meeting’ at our local church. There were a lot of shocked and angry people there. I can’t blame them. They fear that Trump will wreck the progress that they have fought for, and they have fought. This church has members that were involved in the civil rights struggles of the sixties, and are quiet active in current civil rights battles with the LGBT community. They (and all of us) have a lot to lose.

However, this is not a hostile takeover. Trump has been chosen. He has been chosen by a hell of a lot of people who are equally afraid. They are afraid of losing their jobs in a poorly managed economy. They are afraid of terrorism. And, they are afraid of losing their cultural identity with the flurry of change that has recently come. The very things that we see as progress (marriage equality, amnesty for undocumented immigrants, the legalization of marijuana, ect.), they see as the corruption of the very core of their national identity, and a threat to their personal security.

The end result of all this is that you have a nation deeply, deeply divided, and each side unwilling to talk to the other. This is a big problem. We can’t afford to fuck around with all this. We simply don’t have the time. There are several doomsday scenarios looming over our heads at the moment, and the clock is ticking. If we as a species do not learn to settle our differences and work for the highest good of all, real quick, we may be doomed.

We cannot get where we need to go without a good margin of the Trump voters getting on the same page. This means that we will have to reach out to them and find common ground. Like Marshall Rosenberg says, “we are all made of the same energy and have the same needs.” We have to meet them at the level of our mutual needs, and quickly.

Leave a Reply

