I finally get it!

Over the past few months I have seen Christian friends of mine go through a transformation of sorts. I have witnessed them going from people who absolutely despise Donald Trump, to people who tolerate Donald Trump, to people who make excuses for Donald Trumps inflammatory and vulgar statements, to finally people who accept Donald Trump as the will of God, and viciously defend him.

trump-signOne of my Christian family members posted this photo on Facebook today. I was meditating on these words, thinking that they seem very familiar. Then it hit me. This is the story of Jesus Christ. These people believe that Trump is a sort of Jesus figure who has come down from his glory to save us lowly humans. Just look at these verses from the Bible:

Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. (Philipians 2:5-8 NKJV)

For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though He was rich, yet for your sakes He became poor, that you through His poverty might become rich. (2 Corinthians 8:9 NKJV)

There are many other verses like these, but they all basically say the same thing. Jesus, being God, left his glory and power in order to save the world. They believe, really believe, that Trump left his billions and lofty tower in order to save the world. He was willing to be mistreated and misrepresented in order to lay down his life in the service of his fellow Americans.

So, when I insult Donald Trump I am basically insulting their God, and they take it personally.

This realization was a shock to me. I’m not sure how I should approach people who hold these strong feelings for the Donald. In all sincerity, I don’t want to offend their religious beliefs about the man, but I must call out things as I see them.

trump-rainbow-flagTo be honest with you, I am trying to keep an open mind about our new president-elect. I have been seeing a lot of headlines that lead me to believe that he may be a lot more liberal than everyone is thinking. His latest policy proposal (aparently inspired by his daughter) is to guarantee six weeks of paid maternity leave for all workers. That is a policy that would make Bernie Sanders do a double take. Who knows… maybe all of his campaign rhetoric was just WWE style posturing to impress his base. Maybe there’s more to Donald Trump than meets the eye. I hope so. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

