More Brutality at Standing Rock

I finished up Walden Two today. It was a great book. I’m about to hit the sack, but I will write my thoughts on it, probably tomorrow.

I’ve noticed that MSM is reporting on the Dakota Access Pipeline conflict now. It kind of makes me wonder why. Maybe things have escalated to the point that they can no longer ignore them or run the risk of being seen as completely irrelevant. Just today I saw that tribal leaders from the Standing Rock Sioux were pleading their case at the United Nations. It’s pretty disgraceful that it’s come to that, but something has to be done. The violence inflicted on the protestors by police and private security working for the oil company is getting way out of hand.

sophia-wilanskySophia Wilansky is the latest victim of the police violence at Standing Rock. Her arm was nearly blown off by a police concussion grenade. Please read the story on Democracy Now. Police are denying responsibility for her injury. This poor girl who was just trying to do the right thing may now have to go through life maimed, and in massive medical debt. I encourage anyone who can to contribute to the GoFundMe page set up to help out with her medical bills.

Stuff like this really sickens me. However, I must assume my share of the responsibility. DAPL is just a symptom of the real sickness. I support and encourage their industry by my personal refusal to transition away from fossil fuels. As long as we buy their product, they will continue to rape the earth and any and all who get in their way to acquire it. We all must change.

Leave a Reply

