Yeah, I have a good life

Today was a mostly uneventful day. Work was work. I love my coworkers, but I often find some of their personalities off putting. For the most part they are all great people. I guess having negative focused people is just a universal fact of life. I understand that things do indeed suck sometimes, but there is still so, so much to be grateful for. Marcus Aurelius said it well…

“Begin each day by telling yourself: Today I shall be meeting with interference, ingratitude, insolence, disloyalty, ill-will, and selfishness – all of them due to the offenders’ ignorance of what is good or evil.”

I have no control over how other people behave. Sure, I try to positively influence them, but ultimately they will do whatever they choose. Where I do have total control however, is how I react to them. I try very hard to not take anything personally. I know that people usually do what they do out of ignorance or weakness. We’re all human, so I cut them slack as much as I can.

Did I mention that today was a great day, and my life is full of good people and things? Well, it is, and if you look hard enough you will probably find that yours is too.

 

Leave a Reply

