My (almost) 300 lb Life

Denice and I are sitting on the couch, watching My 600 lb Life. This show is beyond disturbing. It’s more so than Hoarders, which never fails to blow my mind. There is something about watching the life of another person spiral completely out of control that is mesmerizing. It’s like watching a train wreck or a tornado. You are horrified, but you can’t look away.

I remember, not long ago, when I looked down at my scale and it read 299 lb’s. That’s a far cry from 600 lb’s, but for me it was a slap in the face. I was a hare’s breath away from weighing 300 lb’s. There was something about crossing that threshold that was absolutely terrifying. On the inside I knew that to cross over into the 300’s was for me to abandon hope… to truly not give a fuck.

Thankfully the shock of looking over that edge was enough to catalyze the beginnings of true change in my life. I’ve got a long, long way to go, but I am definitely on the path.

Leave a Reply

