Cheat day… um, I mean weekend

This weekend has been especially debaucherous. I have eaten so much sugary junk that I have insulin leaking out of my eyes. It’s been great!

I’m going to modify my protocol for the next couple of weeks. For starters I am going to follow a five on/two off eating cycle. I’ve been having trouble keeping my ‘cheat day’ contained in just one actual day. I don’t have a lot of problems doing Slow Carb during the week, since I am at work and don’t have time to think about all the delicious food I could be eating. On the weekend it’s a different story. So, I am going to test out doing a strict five days of Slow Carb on an eighteen/six-hour intermittent fasting schedule. That is actually an increase in my eating window. I’ve been doing a three-hour eating window, so I will be doubling it. The real change is going to be attempting to stay 100% compliant with Slow Carb for five days out of the week. I think that if I can do that I will still be within the ‘minimum effective dose’ that I need to keep the fat coming off.

The rest of the protocol will be staying more or less the same. I will still be doing the Wim Hoff Method twice a day (two sets of thirty deep breath/retentions), and ending my nightly showers on five minutes of cold. This doesn’t sound like a lot, but I think it is enough to get the effect I am looking for. Now for the excercise.

It turns out that I was doing the wrong excercise protocol from the Four Hour Body. I am going to be doing a slightly modified version of Occam’s Protocol for the next couple of weeks. Occam’s Protocol is a super minimalist routine that only requires a maximum of one hour a week (two workouts of less than thirty minutes). The protocol involves doing weight lifting at a very slow cadence of five seconds up and five seconds down, and continuing the set until muscle failure (the inability to move the weight). It is completely different from any method that I have ever tried, and I am excited to see if it will work for me.

To sum things up, I am going to be eating like Homer Simpson on the weekends, and walking the talk on the week days. Hopefully that will be enough to keep the fitness train moving. We will see.

Leave a Reply

