Rude Awakening

This morning I opened my eyes and saw that the time on my clock was 6:24 am. I normally leave for work at 6:20. I think I unwittingly turned my alarm clock off when it sounded at 5:10. Needless to say I nearly shit myself. I leaped out of bed and was clothed and ready to go at 6:31. I always meticulously prepare everything for the day to come before I go to bed. This and Denice graciously waking up and taking care of the dogs saved me. I made it to work on time.

This was a strange occurence because I have no memory of turning my alarm clock off. I don’t even remember it going off in the first place. I recall that I was having a lot of dreams. I think that I was in a very deep sleep most of the night. I think this may be related to doing contrast showers before bed. I always have great sleep when I do the contrast showers. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, a ‘contrast shower’ is when you turn the water up as hot as can be tolerated for about 20 seconds and then turn in down all the way cold for about twenty seconds. This is repeated about 10 times, ending on cold. It’s a technique that was developed by NASA scientist, Ray Cronise.

Contrast showers, besides giving one amazing sleep, also helps with fat loss, circulatory health, and depression. It’s complicated, but basically the cold and heat trigger beneficial hormonal changes and also cause the brain to release norepinephrine, which has a number of positive health effects.

That’s all for now, friends. I’m going to get in bed early to hopefully avoid a repeat of this morning.

Leave a Reply

