It’s D day

Well, it’s official. Donald Trump is now the President of the United States. By the look of things his administration will probably be as bad as everyone fears. Hell, he and this new Congress may end up completely erasing the progress that we have made over the past decade. He may even get us into a new war or wars. Are worst nightmares may come true because of this one guy with a bad spray tan. So, what are we going to do? We are going to¬†take it like a Stoic.

Question one: Can I as an individual replace Donald Trump as the President with someone much more qualified, like Bernie Sanders for example?

Answer: No, that is outside of my control.

Question two: Can I prevent any fucked up actions that Donald Trump or Congress take in the years to come?

Answer: No, that is outside of my control.

So, what can I control?

Myself. I have complete control over my thoughts and actions and how I respond to the actions of others. And, I can influence people who give me this power in their lives.

I am not going to lose one minute of sleep worrying about Donald Trump. Why would I inflict this extra harm on myself? No, I am going to keep doing what I do. I am going to be the change that I want to see in the world. I may not be able to change the whole world single handedly, but I can change myself and the small portion of the world that I inhabit. If enough of us commit to doing this, we will see a better world.

Leave a Reply

