His Woke level is over 9000!

I’m almost finished listening to episode 911 of the Joe Rogan Experience. Yes, this is the one with the infamous Alex Jones. It’s taken me a few days to get through it. The level of off-the-wall bullshit in this podcast is at times overwhelming.

Alex Jones is one of those characters who I honestly cannot tell if he truly believes the stuff he says or if it is all just an act. Back in the day I actually used to listen to the guy. I think I started listening to him shortly after the 9/11 attacks. The official story was full of holes and explanations that just didn’t match the evidence. Jones was shining a spotlight on the whole thing, so I jumped on the bandwagon. To this day I do not buy the official story of 9/11. There are just way too many things that do not make sense. Alex proposes that the whole thing was a black op, perpetrated by rogue elements inside the government. Do I believe this? Well, it doesn’t matter if I believe it or not. I can’t prove it.

Do conspiracies happen? You bet. All the time. Complicated conspiracies have been planned and executed by people who want to control and dominate other people throughout history. We’re monkeys. We can be devious little fuckers. Does this fact mean that almost everything that happens on the geopolitical scene is part of some malevolent master plan of the Illuminati? That’s doubtful. Is it possible? Sure, but so are invisible unicorns. Can I prove it? Nope. Can Alex Jones prove it? Obviously not.

I don’t mean to be an Alex Jones basher, I really don’t. To tell you the truth, the podcast was very entertaining. Joe Rogan spent half the episode trying to sell Alex on alternative, and saner possible explanations for all of his conspiracy theories. And then there was the whole matter of watching Alex Jones get completely baked. It was a sight to behold. The more weed and whiskey they got into the guy the crazier the stuff coming out of his mouth got. Towards the end, he was talking about transdimensional pedophiles and psychic vampires. What the hell?

Anyway, I want to end this post with saying that I do not know what is going on. We live in a cosmos of unlimited possibilities. I believe it was Terrance McKenna who said, “I don’t believe anything, but I entertain all kinds of ideas.” Entertaining an idea is not the same thing as believing it as gospel truth. I believe there is a truth to everything, but often it is either too complicated or too hidden for us to know. Everything we think we know is just a probability. With that said, I try to form my opinions around the best evidence that is available. I think the key is to never get attached to an idea, never to make it part of our identity. It makes it a lot easier to break up with the idea when one that better matches the evidence comes along.

I think the scary thing is that there are a lot of people out there who are unhinged enough to really latch on and believe what Alex Jones says as the truth, and then to act on it. At the very least he should have a disclaimer that the information he puts out is unverified conjecture (when it is). Of course, that may hurt the profitability of his doomsday prepper sponsor base. Gotta keep them dollars flowing, you know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

