The Black Mirror

Let’s talk about The Black Mirror. I just started watching this series on Netflix. It is beautifully disturbing. I’ve only seen the first five episodes, but I am already in love with it.

From Wikipedia:

“Black Mirror is a British science fiction television anthology series created by Charlie Brooker and centered around dark and satirical themes that examine modern society, particularly with regard to the unanticipated consequences of new technologies.”

This show has the feel of the old Twilight Zone, minus all the completely implausible nonsense that permeated many of the episodes. I think the coolest thing about Black Mirror is that none of the episodes are very far fetched. The technologies already exist or are on the near horizon. This shit could and probably will happen.

The themes of Black Mirror are ones that I think on often. It’s easy to forget that science and technology are relatively new things. A mere hundred years ago the best method of transportation was riding on the back of large, grass-eating animal. Inside of a single century, we have rapidly traversed through the industrial revolution, to space flight, splitting the atom, and now we are smack dab in the middle of the information age. There is an acceleration of technological development going on that we are not prepared for, and there’s no way we could be. We are still animals, driven by instinct to an underappreciated degree. The learning curve of these new technologies is steep and unforgiving. Our ability to adapt to this emerging new world will be what makes or breaks us as a species. Many other species have gone extinct because of their inability to cope with far tinier degrees of change. If we are going to make it, we must master technology, and not become enslaved by it.

Anyway, while I was writing this I discovered that I started The Black Mirror of the third season. I had no idea that there were two previous ones. I think I’m going to go ahead and finish the third season before I bounce back and start at the beginning.

I highly recommend this show. However, be warned, many episodes are dark. I personally enjoy this. Not all of our nature is rainbows and kittens. You can’t really appreciate the good and sweet until you taste the dark and bitter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

