Gotta get a grip

The struggle continues, friends. On my last weigh-in, I was up two pounds. That is freakin unacceptable. I have gotten to a point where I let the slightest thing, the tiniest inconvenience deter me from my plan. I started out with the best of intentions this morning. I stayed on my protocol perfectly until I got off work. Denice picked me up from work, and we had one errand to run before going home. We took the car to get the tires rotated. It was going to be an hour wait, and there was a Cheddars right next door. We instantly gave in and commenced stuffing our faces.

The worst part of it was that I was not even hungry. I usually experience mild hunger early in the day, but once that passes I am fine. There was no reason for me to eat out tonight other than being compelled to by a bad habit. This must change.

I have an idea to help myself remember to stay on the protocol. It’s extremely simple, but I think it may be effective. I’m going to get one of those cheap silicon wristbands, probably a black one. While I am on my protocol, Sunday through Friday, I will wear this wristband. It will remind me that I am to have my self-discipline turned on, and cannot deviate from the plan. If I want to go off plan, I will have to consciously remove the wristband. I am hoping this small exercise in mindfulness will allow me to stick to the protocol better. We’ll see.

I still have not gotten back on track from the epic relapse I fell into during my last vacation. Well, I have another vacation coming up the first week in April. I have to get my head game under control or I am going to have a bad time.

Tomorrow I begin again. I have come too far to give up. One way or the other, I am going to do this thing.

Leave a Reply

