A workweek from the Devil’s sulfuric armpit

Hi, fiends. It’s been a few days since my last post. I have had a very rough week. Sit back and relax, let me tell you about it.

Around Tuesday I started getting sick. At first, it didn’t seem like much, just a run-of-the-mill Cold. The symptoms were all respiratory; coughing, sneezing, wheezing, nasal congestion, sinus pressure, etc. It all got progressively worse as the week went on. Thursday night and Friday morning were especially rough with continual episodes of coughing. The worst part of this whole experience was having to go to work through it all.

Under normal circumstances, I would have called in and taken a couple of days of sick time to recover. Unfortunately, we were not operating under normal circumstances. Due to several factors that would take too long to explain, my workload has more than doubled the last couple of weeks. It is a temporary surge that just happened to hit at the worst possible time. Complicating matters, my only coworker who is trained to fill in for me when I’m gone was on scheduled vacation, and also sick, by the way. Another coworker had a similar (if not the very same thing) sickness and had to call out for two days. So, we are buried in work to the point where I had no choice but to be there.

I sucked it up and worked the entire sixty hour week, sick. There were a couple of time that I thought I was going to have to fold, but I toughed it out. I’m sure that doing this has only prolonged my recovery time.

So, the work week from the fiery pit of hell is now behind me. It should be easy sailing now, right? Um, no. Next week I am indeed on vacation, which is awesome. And, we are also traveling to Colorado to visit Denice’s family and have fun in general, which is also awesome. The problem is that I am still sick, and Denice is apparently coming down with the same nasty stuff. I am feeling somewhat improved this morning, but she is just getting started. This has the potential to throw a monkey wrench into our plans. So, we are leaving on Tuesday. I hope we will be able to pull ourselves together in time to have a really fun trip. We’ll see.

I know this post sounds like a big fat wad of complaining, and it somewhat is. However, I did get some good Stoic training in through the experiences. There was a multitude of time where I found myself mentally focusing on all the problems and worrying about what may happen as a result. I was able to correct my thinking and accept my circumstances and my related decisions, temporarily anyway. I feel like I have gotten a little stronger.

More to come.

Leave a Reply

